the c & b diaspora

I see London, I see France [Now with working Photos!]

Posted on: November 16, 2008

Je’taime Paris!

So last week I headed on a wee adventure, left Chris at home to work, girls weekend/few days exploration in Paris

Had the most wonderful time. Weekend started off in London. I know i have only recently been to London but i absolutely love London. Spent some time at Camden Markets. Everytime I waeve my way in and out of the stalls I manage to find something new. Had dinner from the market, tasted delicious I didnt even mind if it was cat, squirrel or rat. Headed to Harrods. OMG! How i wish i was uber rich so I could have bought everything I wanted.  One day. Picadilly Circus had all their Chrismas lights out. Not tacky at all. They were beautiful. Spent the evening in a backpackers near Kings Cross. An interesting experience to say the least.

Now we head through customs at St Pancras International and I got a new stamp in my passport. Headed to Paris on the Eurostar. Brill. Would definately recommend fast trains. No waiting in the airport for 2 and a half hours which was fab. Had a woman in our carriage that proceeded to have a cellphone conversation with whomever was picking her up in Paris, we couldny figure if it was amle of female on the other end of the phone. We heard all about her sex life. Not only were Dawn and I cracking up but everyone else in the carriage too.  We put our clocks forward an hour as we were now out of the chunnela nd in France.  Arrived, bought our 10 pack ‘carnet’ of metro tickets, off to drop our luggage at backpackers. Mmmm backpackers. I remember why I dislike them but that didnt detract from the superb time I had.

First outing we decided was to the Lourve. Got off the metro, BAM, Eiffel Tower, Concorde, Arc de Triompe, Louvre. I couldnt have asked for a better first image of Paris. headed straight to the Louvre, stopping on the way to get a waffle with chocolate sauce aka melted nutella. So tasty. The Louvre was amazing. Even if you are like me and arent an avid art follower you will still fall in love. We probably walked at least 10kms while in the Louvre. Beautiful works. We got lost more than a few times.

We could see the Eiffel Tower from the Louvre so we thought it would be a good idea to walk along the Seine River. Little did we know its actually quite a hike.  But it was worth it! It was still light when we arrived to see the Eiffel in all its glory. The lights came on just as we were arriving, blue with yellow stars in the circle just like the the European Union flag.  Lots of beggers around the tower. A Bosnian woman came up to Dawn asking of she spoke English. I just ignored her but Dawn read the note she gave her, asking for money of course. No f’n way am i giving people like that money.

Day 2. Headed out early in the am after a crap nights sleep in the backpackers. Walked back to the Eiffel Tower. Not far at all from the backpackers. Lined up just as they were opening ticket booths. Cable car to second floor then onto the lift to the 3rd floor before the crowds hit.  Beautiful views.  Paris seemed to go on forever.  Could see all the sights we wanted to head to. Third floor is all enclosed as you can imagine. Auckalnd is only 18500kms from Paris. Thought it would be a good idea to head to the outer caged deck with no windows to stop the wind. My goodness. It was like a windtunnel in Antarctica. Freezing but fab. Back to level 2. Completely different view but just as fabulous. We walked the stairs from the 1st floor back to the ground. Would not like to walk the stairs up. though my buns and thighs would probably look fab after. I enjoyed paying an extra €3 to catch the cable car.

Had brekkie at a really weird place. Was sh*t but meh.

Arc de Triomphe is amazing. Its like the centre of a huge roundabout with a million roads coming off and the fact that the roundabout is 6 lanes wide. Walked down the Champ Elysees as we headed to Musee D’Orsay to see Van Gogh, Monet and Picasso. Little did we know that Musee D’Orsay is closed on Mondays. Joy. Not to worry we werent left with nothing to do. Notre Dame is tremendous. It is beautiful on th outside and inside. The Gargoyles arent as large and/or scary as I had imagined as a child. The stained glass windows are massive, bright and gloriously beautiful. We didnt head up the bell tower. Next time.

We wandered the streets of St Germain. We wandered in and out of the shops and before long we were miles from anyway at Montparnasse. It was starting to get dark so we jumped on the Metro and headed to Montmarte.  I was sad that the windmill at Moulin Rouge had scaffolding around it. Next time i head to Paris i am definately heading to a show at Moulin Rouge. There were about a billion sex shops, erotic supermarkets, peepshows along the road. We knew that Sacre Coeur was up a hill and within walking distance so we headed up the hill in search. Half an hour and 500 steps had passed and we walked around the corner and saw the bell tower of Sacre Coeur. The light was brilliant. The building was lit up beautifully and the sky was black. Sacre Coeur is the highest point in Paris so we looked over Paris in the dark. I attepmted to take some piccies but the wind and spiiting became an issue. I needed Chris to help me but alas he wasnt even in the same time zone.

Last day in Paris and we knew for sure that Musee D’Orsay was open. D’Orsay is no way near as grand as the Louvre but it grew on me once we found the impressionist floor. Main exhibition was Picasso. Was rather overrated. Wasnt his best work. Found Van Gogh. Works werent as big as i was expecting. Even smaller than the Mona Lisa. Monets pieces were amazing. I hearted them. Seeing them in books and ont eh internet just doesnt do them justice. After Monet I found Whistlers Mother. I stood in front of it cracking up. I know you are meant to be quiet in a museum but all i could think about was when Mr Bean drew a moustache on Whistlers Mother in a movie. The Musee D’Orsay just became uber cool.

Time to leave Paris. Je’taime Paris. Will definately be back. Might take Chris with me next time :o)

For photos of my adventure CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

